When the KMAC announced its all-conference baseball and softball teams, Cardington’s Mikayla Linkous was named the league’s Player of the Year and her coach, Tod Brininger, was selected as Coach of the Year.

The KMAC gave out awards for first team, second team and honorable mention. Also handed out were All Academic awards that went to one senior for each school with a grade point average of 3.5 or better.


First Team: Mikayla Linkous, Cardington; Dana Bertke, Cardington; Genevieve Longsdorf, Cardington; Chloe Goulter, Centerburg; Keaura Shilling, Danville; Alicia Humphrey, Danville; Natalie Smith, East Knox; Shanda Melick, East Knox; Taylor Brown, Fredericktown; Jess Montavio, Fredericktown; Reza Benson, Mount Gilead; Maddie Simpson, Northmor.

Second Team: Emalee Artz, Cardington; Hailee Edgell, Cardington; Shelby Morris, Centerburg; Chesney Fairall, Centerburg; Camie Newbold, Danville; Grace Gronberg, Danville; Maddy Cotsamire, East Knox; Gabby Daniels, Fredericktown; Laney Partington, Fredericktown; Mahaila Stroebel, Northmor; Kate Kissling, Northmor.

Honorable Mention: Riley Burchett, Cardington; Kaitlyn Tenzos, Centerburg; Addison Mickley, Danville; Kayla Finch, East Knox; Miranda Payne, Fredericktown; Molly Murphy, Mount Gilead; Taylor Cantrell, Northmor.

All Academic: Kayleigh Ufferman, Cardington; Kaitlyn Tenzos, Centerburg; Keaura Shilling, Danville; Anjel Montgomery, East Knox; Katie Mull, Fredericktown; Molly Murphy, Mount Gilead; Lexi Wenger, Northmor.

League Champion: Cardington.

Player of the Year: Mikayla Linkous, Cardington.

Coach of the Year: Tod Brininger, Cardington.


First Team: Carter Kennon, Mount Gilead; Grayson Reynolds, Centerburg; Griffin Collins, Centerburg; Brady Lester, Fredericktown; Kaid Carpenter, Fredericktown; Grant Bentley, Northmor; Max Lower, Northmor; Trevor Jobes, Fredericktown; Dillon Minturn, Cardington; Walker Weckesser, Danville; Jared Rings, Centerburg.

Second Team: Wyatt Wade, Cardington; Bryar Householder, East Knox; Peyton Lester, East Knox; Carson Steinmetz, East Knox; Luke Bean, Fredericktown; Xavier Mullins, Fredericktown; Dakota Baer, Centerburg; Griffin Workman, Northmor; Andrew Armrose, Northmor; Drew Hammond, Northmor; Isiah Reynolds, Centerburg; Nate Hickman, Cardington.

Honorable Mention: A.J. Hall, Cardington; Dalton Hall, Centerburg; Aaron Mezle, Danville; Cole Delaughder, East Knox; Daichi Yamazaki, Fredericktown; Nick Garvey, Mount Gilead; Gavin Whited, Northmor.

All Academic: Joe Denney, Cardington; Reed Compton, Centerburg; Peyton Lester, East Knox; Tyler McKinney, Mount Gilead; Mathew Kearns, Northmor.

League Champion: Fredericktown.

Player of the Year: Kaid Carpenter, Fredericktown.

Coach of the Year: Ryan Hathaway, Fredericktown.

Cardington’s Mikayla Linkous as selected as the KMAC’s Player of the Year in softball for her efforts during the spring sports season.
https://www.morrowcountysentinel.com/wp-content/uploads/sites/29/2022/06/web1_mikaylalinkous-1.jpgCardington’s Mikayla Linkous as selected as the KMAC’s Player of the Year in softball for her efforts during the spring sports season. Rob Hamilton | Morrow County Sentinel

By Rob Hamilton

[email protected]

Rob Hamilton can be reached at 419-946-3010, ext. 1807. Connect with him on Twitter at @SportsMCS