Consolidated Electric Cooperative hosts annual meeting


Approximately 525 members and guests of Consolidated Electric Cooperative (CEC) attended its annual meeting on May 7 at the cooperative’s Delaware office on St. Rte. 521. The number doubled the attendance of the previous year.

Consolidated, formed in 1996 through the merger of Delaware Rural Electric Cooperative and Morrow Electric

Cooperative, used the meeting to celebrate 80 years of service to its members.

Three members of the CEC board of directors were re-elected to new terms. Re-elected to serve the cooperative’s District 1 was Richard Gearhiser of Radnor.

A cooperative member for 46 years, Gearhiser has been a CEC board trustee since 1990.

Don McCracken of Centerburg was re-elected to serve CEC’s District 2.

McCracken has been a member of the board of trustees since 1993 and has been a cooperative member for 45 years.

Dick Miller of Mount Gilead was re-elected to serve District 3 of CEC. He has been a cooperative member for 37 years and a member of the board of trustees since 2010.

Board chairman Larry Roof also recognized Richard Carter, who retired in March after 34 years of service to CEC’s board.

Roof read a board resolution of appreciation and presented Carter with a plaque commemorating his length of service and achievements. “Dick has led us all by example,” Roof said. “He exemplifies the cooperative principles and spirit.”

No posts to display