COLUMBUS — About 275 school board members, administrators, staff, students and guests from across central Ohio gathered in Columbus on March 9 for the Ohio School Boards Association (OSBA) Central Region Spring Conference.

The region hosts two conferences a year, one in the spring and one in the fall. The conference featured updates from OSBA officers and staff and a number of awards and recognitions. The region recognized outstanding school board members, exemplary school programs and board members celebrating years-of-service milestones.

A highlight of the evening was a presentation by representatives from Hamilton Local Schools in Franklin County on how the once-struggling school system went from being a low-performing district to a high-achieving one.

In 2015, Hamilton Township High School earned the prestigious honor of being named a National Blue Ribbon School.

Attendees also enjoyed a performance by students in the NUAge a cappella group from North Union Local Schools in Union County.

Fourteen counties comprise the OSBA Central Region: Crawford, Delaware, Fairfield, Fayette, Franklin, Knox, Licking, Madison, Marion, Morrow, Pickaway, Richland, Ross and Union. The other OSBA regions are Northeast, Northwest, Southeast and Southwest.

In its 61st year, the Ohio School Boards Association leads the way to educational excellence by serving Ohio’s public school board members and the diverse districts they represent through superior service, unwavering advocacy and creative solutions.

Staff report