Diocese of Toledo & ECLA Northwest Ohio Synod to co-host environmental discussion


The Catholic Diocese of Toledo and the Northwest Ohio Synod of the Evangelical Lutheran Church in America (ECLA) are co-hosting a presentation and discussion on Pope Francis’ Encyclical “Laudato Si (On Care for Our Common Home)” at 3 p.m. Jan. 24 at Our Lady, Queen of the Most Holy Rosary Cathedral, 2535 Collingwood Blvd., Toledo. All are welcome to attend; ample parking will be available.

The event coincides with the Week of Prayer for Christian Unity, which takes place January 18-25. The year 2016 marks the 15th anniversary of the Catholic-Lutheran Covenant in northwest Ohio, which will be recognized by the Diocese of Toledo and Northwest Ohio Synod of the ECLA throughout the year.

After the presentation, join Bishop Daniel E. Thomas from the Catholic Diocese of Toledo and Bishop Marcus Lohrmann from the Northwest Ohio Synod of the ECLA for an Evening Prayer and light reception. Bishop Thomas will lead the prayer and Bishop Lohrmann will give the homily. A combined Lutheran-Catholic choir also will sing.

The discussion features guest presenter Dr. Gregory Hitzhusen, assistant professor of professional practice in religion, ecology and sustainability in the School of Environment and Natural Resources at The Ohio State University, and founding director and board chair for Ohio Interfaith Power and Light. Dr. Hitzhusen’s work and research center on the intersection of faith and the environment and on developing partnerships between scientific and faith communities. His teaching focuses on religion and ecology, environmental communications and community sustainability projects.

Dr. Hitzhusen has previously worked for the National Wildlife Federation, the National Religious Partnership for the Environment and the National Council of Churches Eco-Justice Programs. He is vice chair of the Environmental Justice Section of the Ecological Society of America, where he coordinates the Scientists Speakers Bureau for Earth Stewardship Outreach to Faith Communities.

The Catholic Diocese of Toledo is comprised of 19 counties, 123 parishes and 300,000 faithful. The Northwest Ohio Synod of the ECLA covers 23 counties, 162 congregations and 75,000 faithful.


The Diocese of Toledo, established April 15, 1910, encompasses 8,222 square miles in a mixture of urban and rural areas and spans 19 counties across Northwest Ohio, serving approximately 320,000 Catholics in 123 parishes. The Diocese includes Allen, Crawford, Defiance, Erie, Fulton, Hancock, Henry, Huron, Lucas, Ottawa, Paulding, Putnam, Richland, Sandusky, Seneca, Van Wert, Williams, Wood and Wyandot counties.

Staff report

No posts to display