Perrysburg, Ohio – The Ohio Mayors Association recently held their Annual Conference in Perrysburg, Ohio, and at the Executive Committee Meeting on Thursday, June 11, Village of Bellville Mayor Darrell Banks was elected President and Mt. Gilead Village Mayor Mike Porter was elected Second Vice President.

The Mayors Conference program included sessions for the mayors to learn of successful programs and actions from other Mayors. Speakers included representatives of the Army Corps of Engineers, the Ohio Bureau of Workman’s Compensation, Ohio Department of Natural Resources, the Ohio Department of Transportation, and the Ohio Environmental Protection Agency. The above speakers and others from the private sector discussed a variety of subjects including grant programs, fracking, compliance with the Affordable Healthcare Act, Public Records, Open Meetings and many other subjects.

Elected to the position of First Vice President was Eric Keckler, Mayor of the City of Fostoria, William Flaute the Mayor of the City of Riverside was elected Secretary, completing the slate was Jeffery Hazel Mayor of the Village of Celina for Treasurer. The slate continued the tradition of alternating between the president being from a village one year and a city the next year.

The Ohio Mayors Association is affiliated with the Ohio Municipal League and is an association of cities and villages in Ohio. The purpose of the Mayors Association of Ohio is to seek improvement of municipal government and administration and the promotion of the general welfare of the cities and villages of this State by appropriate means, including but not limited to the following: a). cooperation with the Ohio Municipal League for the collection, analysis and dissemination of information concerning municipal government. b). to foster educational opportunities for mayors and city managers. c). securing of harmony of action among the municipalities of Ohio.

Next year’s conference will be in the Columbus area during June.