Ashland Theological Seminary launches Presidential Search Committee

Staff report

Ashland Theological Seminary, a division of Ashland University, has formed a Presidential Search Committee and has started the process of identifying the ninth president in the Seminary’s 110-year history. The new president will succeed Dr. John Shultz, who will retire at the end of this academic year after serving as ATS president since 2006.

The Search Committee, which is chaired by Board of Trustee member Tom Murray, is comprised of Dr. Carlos Campo, Ashland University President; Steven Cole, Executive Director of the Brethren Church; Dr. Paul Chilcote, Dr. Dale Stoffer, Dr. Bill Myers, Dr. Claudia Sadler-Gerhardt, Dr. Mike Thompson and Roberto Ponce, all from the Seminary; trustee members Rev. Arden Gilmer, Dr. Chris Boyd, Joyce Lamb, Lisa Miller and Dale Thomae; former AU interim president Dr. Bill Crothers; and Pat Krebs and Laura Noble, Seminary Advisory Committee members.

Although applications will be accepted until the time that a new president is selected, candidates should submit materials by Jan. 22 for the most favorable consideration, according to Murray.

“The Search Committee will determine a list of final candidates for the position and present their names to the AU Board of Trustees, who will appoint the new president,” Murray said. “Our plan is to have a new president in place no later than July 1, 2016.”

The job description is available for review at, and more information on the ATS Presidential Search can be found at

Staff report