Last updated: August 06. 2014 4:15PM - 161 Views

Story Tools:

Font Size:

Social Media:

Heart of Ohio Junior Golf Association honored PGA professional Jeff Gandee (guest speaker), junior members and volunteers at the 28th Year-End Awards Banquet, which was held at Kings Mill Thursday.

Gandee, formerly of Marion, currently holds the position of Director of Golf General Manager of Auburn Hills Golf Club in Christianburg, Va. As golf coach of Auburn Hills High School, he built the program and led the team to their first district title in school history. Gandee was active in high school golf at Harding and the HOJGA program.

Nathan Smith of Wynford received top honor of the season and was presented the David J. Wensinger Player of the Year $2000 scholarship award and rotating trophy by Dr. Jerry Wensinger. He scored 120 points to top the 16-18 division and his low-scoring average of 75.6 entitled him to the Low-Scoring Average rotating trophy. Smith was also the recipient of the Knights of Columbus $500 scholarship chosen by members of his 16-18 division.

Brock Faulkner of River Valley was runner-up to Smith with 98 points and received the Ross Carley Memorial Player of the Year First Runner-up $1500 scholarship, presented to him by Dennis Jesse. Brian Snouffer was presented the Wensinger Family Player of the Year Second Runner-up $500 award by Dr. Wensinger.

Colin Chapman of River Valley was honored with the HOJGA Three-Year Accumulative Point $500 scholarship and Noah Trease of Colonel Crawford received the NUCOR Steel Marion “Most Improved” $500 scholarship award. The Jack H. Owens M.E.R.I.T. $500 scholarship was awarded to Dustin Sites of Pleasant by James Owens.

Faulkner was second in the 16-18 low-scoring average with 75.8, Chapman was third with 78.2, Sites followed at 79.2 and Snouffer finished at 79.8.

Kameron Hall of Harding was the winner with 108 points to top the 13-15 group to receive the HOJGA 13-15 Player of the Year $500 scholarship award. He also won the Low-Scoring Average rotating trophy with his average of 80. Todd Crowe of Fairbanks was second in points with 97, Max McCloy third with 87, Griffin McCloy fourth with 80 points and Zack Hosack with 77 to round out the top five. Max McCloy was second in low-scoring average at 81, followed by Hosack at 81.7, Crowe at 85.4 and Griffin McCloy at 86.2.

Other Sportsmanship winners were: 13-15 division, Griffin McCloy of Pleasant and 12-and-under, Alexander Crowe of Fairbanks. All honorees in each division received plaques.

Eagle Club plaque nominees were Sites, Snouffer and Keegan Sims of Bucyrus. Plaques were also presented for Most Birdies of the Season in the 16-18 division to Smith and Faulkner, who tied at 13; while Hall led in 13-15 with seven. Brett Montgomery of Upper Sandusky won Most Pars in 12-and-under with 16.

Courtney Good of Elgin was top seller of raffle tickets and won $100. Reece Zeigler of Bucyrus was second. The winner of the raffle prize, a complete set of TaylorMade Burner Plus Irons, was won by Donnie Parrott of Richwood. Seller of the ticket was Zeigler.

Information received from HOJGA.

All user comments are subject to our Terms of Service. Users may flag inappropriate comments.
comments powered by Disqus

Featured Businesses


Info Minute

Gas Prices

Mt. Gilead Gas Prices provided by GasBuddy.com